1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My T dug a deep burrow and covered the entrance – but I found mold?

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by Krystal Anne, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Advertisement
    Hi everyone,

I'm a little new to the hobby, but even after 2+ years of research, I still worry a lot :shy:

My 3” A. seemanni juvenile dug himself elaborate tunnels and a super deep burrow all the way to the bottom of his enclosure. I got super excited for him since he hasn’t done this before so it was cute to me. Today, I noticed that he covered the entrance with substrate and webbing! I was worried at first, but read that this is normal behavior, especially when it comes to molting. He ate 2 days ago and he isn't really balding so I don't think he's in pre-molt, but maybe?

I decided simply not to disturb him, but then I found this white-ish stuff that I thought was webbing at first, but it’s on the substrate up against the glass. I think it's mold... I want to reach in with tongs and pick them off, as I’ve read others do, but it’s RIGHT BY his burrow. I know I'd stress him out or even put him in danger by accidentally messing up the burrow or burying him! Especially if he does turn out to be in pre-molt.

I've read forums, especially from a microbiologist here (I forgot her username) that this amount of mold isn’t dangerous at all. So maybe I can just leave it there for a while, see if he molts or comes out soon, then take it out later on? What if he stays in there for way too long - I heard they can for weeks/months just because? Any advice? Thank you!

Here's a photo. My T's covered burrow entrance is at the top where that triangle white reflection is. The actual tunnel is deeper in, somewhat away from the mold.

Attached Files:

2. Venom1080

Venom1080 Arachnoking Active Member

I can barely see any mold. That's not a issue at all.

And her name is boina:)