My Polymorpha is always underground

many many legs

Arachnosquire
Hey yall,
I bought a younger Polymorpha a few weeks ago. Gave it cover, coco substrate mixed with sand and a water dish. She ignored all my lovingly placed cholla wood, desert rocks and leaf litter and just burrowed instantly. I put crickets in at night and they are gone in the morning, so I know she's in there. The few times I do see her I can tell she's getting bigger, but I'd love to see her out and about more often. Is there anything I can do to encourage her to be above the surface or is this just the nature of my beast?

Staehilomyces

Arachnoprince
Give it time, and perhaps try feeding it during the day (that may mean digging it up though).
My pedes almost always end up getting used to light, and sit on the surface most of the time once settled in for a few weeks.

Mirandarachnid

Arachnobaron
I'll preface this by saying I'm a newbie to pedes.

I only have two, one polymorpha and one heros, both wild caught.

I'd say my heros is out and about 7 out of 10 times I visit my spider room, but I tend to see my polymorpha only a few times a month or less. I've also seen wild heros out hunting during the day, but I can't recall seeing wild polymorpha out in the daylight. Maybe polymorpha is more photosensitive?

Personally, I don't mind when an animal of mine is secretive because it becomes such a treat when they make an appearance.

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer