My new sling is being weird....

iluvcarrots1120

Arachnopeon
I recently re-housed my sling since the homw it came with from the pet shop was a lil too small for an almost inch sling. But this guy is doing something weird and it's been about 10 hours or so since I moved it in. So it climbs up the wall then sticks out its leg out of the air holes?? I'm kinda new to tarantulas. I don't know if it's trying to escape or if it's hungry, or it's too humid? The people at the pet shop didn't mention when they last fed this guy. They mention that it was shipped to them 2 or 3 days ago so I'm not sure...

Attachments

Thekla

Arachnoprince
Of course it wants to escape. :p

But as long as the holes aren't too big (that an actual escape is possible) and there're no sharp edges or bits, it's nothing to worry about. Most of my Ts are sticking their feet out now and then. I think it's rather cute. Sometimes I give them a "high five", it's the closest I ever came to "handling" them. :rofl:

HighFivex.jpg

Edit:
What species is your sling? That enclosure looks a bit like an arboreal enclosure, but the spider doesn't look like it, I think. Maybe it's indeed a bit too moist. Can't tell from the pictures unfortunately.

Last edited:

boina

Lady of the mites
What species is this??

That's the big question, of course. It looks really moist in there but nobody can tell you if that is good or bad if you don't tell us the species!

Paul1126

Arachnoangel
Although it's hard to tell.
The sling looks tiny and the holes look a little big.
I wouldn't be able to sleep at night.

iluvcarrots1120

Arachnopeon
Of course it wants to escape. :p

But as long as the holes aren't too big (that an actual escape is possible) and there're no sharp edges or bits, it's nothing to worry about. Most of my Ts are sticking their feet out now and then. I think it's rather cute. Sometimes I give them a "high five", it's the closest I ever came to "handling" them. :rofl:

View attachment 272515

Edit: