Multispecies (Ecosystem) Vivarium Ideas

Alex G

Arachnopeon
Hey guys,
I have some experience with reptiles, inverts, and plants, but no experience with fish. I want to make a vivarium that is a self-contained ecosystem, maybe not necessarily with things from the same part of the world but obviously things with the same humidity and temperature requirements. I was thinking it would be a vertical tank, with perhaps an arboreal tarantula at the top, small frogs and isopods/springtails at the bottom, and some sort of fish and clean up crew (possibly a betta and ghost shrimp or snail?) in a pond at the bottom, as well as plants throughout.

I'd really love input on species suggestions and care, as I've never attempted something this complicated before. For example, how would I clean the pond?

Thanks!

le-thomas

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
The tarantula would most likely predate on everything you mentioned aside from the aquatics and isopods.
Mimicking an ecosystem in a container the size of a vivarium (or most any size container) is an extremely difficult and, dare I say, often impossible task.

Alex G

Arachnopeon
I'm not dead-set on the tarantula, it could be a gecko or something else. I'm looking for ideas on how to do this right.

donniedark0

chiLLLen
Arachnosupporter
I want to do exactly this. Still debating on how to do it. subscribed to this thread.

SamuraiSid

Arachnodemon
Mimicking an ecosystem in a container the size of a vivarium (or most any size container) is an extremely difficult and, dare I say, often impossible task.
I wouldnt say impossible, but the most challenging thing an enthusiast can do...

I think your biggest problem will be coming across people telling you its a bad idea for all species involved.Can a tarantula survive in an enclosure, with another large invert without being constantly stressed and without making a meal of the other animal? Id like to say yes. Perhaps an Avicularia and a millipede could get along?

Alex G

Arachnopeon