Millipede talk

Millipedematt

Arachnosquire
Hey guys I'm new to arachnoboards and thought I'd post a thread. These are my millipedes I own atm seeing how I live in Florida it's harder to obtain non Florida native species. I've had these guys for about 4 months and they have already started to reproduce which I was very surprised when I found the baby's (found out about a month a go when I saw a few lilttle white millies crawling around xD. But yeah I would love to see other people's species and how there tanks set up.

Attachments

mickiem

Arachnoprince
Welcome to the hobby! This is an addictive and very fun hobby.

I keep mine in Hefty High Rise plastic tubs with holes drilled around the top. [1/8" holes about every 4" within 1/2" of the top on the sides] I have anywhere from 3-8" of substrate, according to their size. I mix my substrate as opposed to "layering" that I know some people do. My substrate is 30% rotting wood [also with shredded aspen and Traeger pellets], 30% leaf litter [also with organic leaf compost], 30% coir and calcium. I bake all of my components for two hours at 250°. Then I add a thin layer of wood or leaves, according to what they eat, on top. I keep sticks and pieces of bark on top to provide different texture for their walks. Some of them coil on the bark as though they were basking like a reptile although there is no light source. On some species that prefer temps over 72° [AGB, Scarlett, Philippine Blue, Glossy Black Pinkleg et al], I add an under tank heater. I place this ABOVE the substrate line on the side. NEVER on the bottom. They don't get very hot, but they do take the edge off when my bug room dips below 70°.

No photos right now; I'll try later today when I have more time. Enjoy!

Millipedematt

Arachnosquire