Megaphobema Mesomelas Theories

Derivative

Arachnosquire
Ok so I have a theory on why Megaphobema Mesomelas die randomly and seem to be so fragile. I am by no means an expert on anything concerning tarantulas and I am looking for feedback on my theory. If anyone has theories of there own feel free to post them.
My theory is that they are overfed and they're organs cant keep up so they end up dying. This may sound ridiculous but here me out. Megaphobema Mesomelas are notorious for requiring lower temperatures and this might mean that when they are kept at the correct temperatures (60-67) their metabolism works much slower than the average tarantula. So often times the normal 3-4 crickets per week for a sling should realy be 1 cricket every 2 weeks for Megaphobema Mesomelas. Or for an adult the normal 2 dubia roaches per 2 weeks should be 1 dubia roach a month for Megaphobema Mesomelas. One reason I speculate overfeeding may be the cause of many Megaphobema Mesomelas's deaths is that when they die they tend to look overweight and almost bloated in a way.At least in the small sample size I have seen which is 2. I would speculate that their metabolism isn't fast enough when they are kept at correct temperatures to keep up with the average tarantula's food intake which may cause their organs to go into overdrive and eventually shutdown.
This at best pseudoscientific speculation because I have only seen 2 pictures of dead M. Mesomelas and they all looked bloated. It is important to note that this is an extremely small sample size and that my theory is very flawed in many ways. I am self admittedly a begginer in the tarantula hobby but I love doing research and speculating. Any feedback is much appreciated.

Last edited:

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
Na, they tend to cark it because people keep them too hot and not moist enough. They're reasonably fast growers so that already throws your slow metabolism theory out of the window.

Chris LXXIX

ArachnoGod