mailing tarantulas?

insane247

Arachnosquire
Hey I am a beginner hobbyist and I have four tarantulas. I never believed in ordering them to be mailed because I thought it wasn't safe and so therefore I have been having a hard time expanding my collection because the tarantulas I want just simply are not being sold in Edmonton, and I will NEVER buy from a pet store (they are given a crash course on care and I've seen so many unhealthy, poorly cared for ts in stores). So I've seen some "unboxing" videos that have changed my opinion on mailing ts.

So I have a few questions about having ts mailed to you so I can understand the process and also so I cannot be scammed. I have had breeders try to scam me assuming I have a lack of knowledge in certain areas and I've heard of many breeders that take advantage of beginner's lack of knowledge. I've had a guy once try to sell me a "female spiderling" thinking I'm an idiot.

1. what are costs of mailing tarantulas?
2. is buying tarantulas online from breeders like typical online buying where they are sold for less than in stores or local selling?
3. how should a tarantula be PROPERLY packaged?
4. How to spot a scammer?
5. Who are reliable breeders that mail tarantulas and have a good reputation?

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
I'm still somewhat of a newbie, but I'll throw in my two cents.

1. It seems like, more often than not, the shipping costs more than the tarantula itself. That's why most people buy several at once, to maximize on shipping costs. Buying 1 sling will (usually) cost the same to ship as 3 slings. For most, buying online is the only real way to buy.