Keeping Kukulcania Hibernalis

Torech Ungol

Arachnosquire
Hello.

I am an arachnophobe turned arachnophile, and am looking to start keeping spiders. From what I’ve read, Kukulcania Hibernalis is low maintenance, and a good beginner spider. The females are also absolutely gorgeous, and they tend to be quite docile. Thus, I’d like to start with one of these. Of course, as a total noob, I have a question or two. Or ninety.

1) Acrylic or glass? Glass is heavier, but acrylic warps and clouds over time, right? Since these spiders are long lived, would it make more sense to get a glass enclosure?

2) Should I put in some kind of actual crevasse into the cage (well-secured concrete with a board nailed into it, or something similar) for her, or would she be fine with something more natural in her house (a hollowed out branch or the like)? For aesthetic reasons, I’d prefer to avoid going the toilet paper roll route.

3) These spiders love to hide. Any suggestions for how to make a place for her that she would like, and would also let me observe her without unduly disturbing her? I was thinking of maybe putting some black construction paper to the side of the cage, and just moving that out of the way to observe her. This way I could change her ambient light level without moving the enclosure (and sparing her the inevitable jerks and bumps of my clumsy-ass hands).

4) For water, I was considering just spritzing her web every time it rained/snowed outside. Would this likely be enough for water? I’ve read that some people have had success with watering K. Hibernalis with a cotton swab. How does this work? You just put a drop of water on it and poke it near her burrow? Coax her out like you were prey and introduce the swab to her? What’s the exact process?

5) Would she need a lot of substrate? If so, any particular kind? I was thinking of just getting some soil (sans pesticide, of course) and putting an inch or so down. This way she’d have a little cushion if she fell.