Keeping Galodes Alive?

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I have no experience with Galeodes species, but I have kept (or tried to keep) some of the native California and Arizona solifugids. They do well short-term, eating and appearing to be fine. I've even had a couple molt successfully while in my care. I had one gravid wc female lay eggs, too - but she promptly ate them. Ultimately, though, they always seem to die after a few months. I think the longest I've kept one alive in captivity had been 6 or 7 months. (Those were the ones that molted, so they spent a significant chunk of that time immobile in premolt.) I still catch a few of the locals every summer to show my students - but I only keep them for a week or two, then release them back where I found them.

sschind

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
So, not worth to get?
That depends on your views. If its a monetary thing many people buy mantids that do not have a long lifespan (though longer than these apparently) and they feel its worth it. I look at something like an orchid mantis and what they sell for as nymphs and if I knew I could get a female that would live its natural lifespan I may consider it worth it but it pushing it.

If you are of the opinion that captivity shortens the lifespan of these creature which would normally live longer in the wild you will need to decide for yourself if that is acceptable to you.