Just Some Centipede Questions

Leviathan103

Arachnopeon
I have recently found a new interest and respect for centipedes and have taken the time to research the creatures. I am very new to the hobby and am trying to gather as much information as possible. I live in a dry area of Colorado where S. Polymorpha are fairly common. This is the only species I've ever seen and recognized in person here and I really want to have one as a pet. I am aware of the dangers these creatures pose and don't plan on ever handling one if I ever have one, but I am seriously interested in them. Anyway, because I live in such a dry area, I was wondering what kind of substrate I should use for a terrarium. I've seen a lot of people use peat or spagnum moss to hold moisture and spray the substrate to keep it moist, but in my area the ground is mostly clay or hardened dirt, not moist at all, and the centipedes manage just fine. Do polymorphas need as much moisture as other species? I'm scared of my centipede getting mycosis from too much moisture or doing something wrong. If you have any answers or information for me I'd greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

NYAN

Arachnoking
Hi, welcome to the boards. Centipedes are amazing pets, but are not like any other invertebrate.
It is important that you have an escape resistant enclosure first and foremost.

Anyway, let me address your questions.

I I am aware of the dangers these creatures pose and don't plan on ever handling one if I ever have one, but I am seriously interested in them.
This species in particular isn’t very venomous compared to other centipedes, in fact it is one of the least potent of its genus. The bite is as bad as a bee sting pretty much.

Anyway, because I live in such a dry area, I was wondering what kind of substrate I should use for a terrarium.