Is this just Pre-Molt Darkening?

kaotzi

Arachnopeon
Ok everyone tends to have a adult tarantula that is fully hairy and when it darkens it loses all its hair in a ring and stuff so its easy to see.. this seems different to me. I am a first time owner that bought a 1 inch Brazilian Black from fear not tarantulas. so i have no experience with these things and just wanna make sure i dont need to be doing something different.

So this little thing doesn't do any of what i expected so far. its VERY bold, and thinks its arboreal half the time. it is always climbing around the cage, I've even seen it hanging upside down from the roof once. I do my best to keep only one half of the ground wet, but it doesn't seem to care either direction and spends equal amounts of time on the dry and the wet.

All of this has been kinda fascinating so far, and the little dude is ALWAYS hungry and usually moves out where i can watch him eat even though he is still small enough that he doesn't have his adult coloring yet. Now the issue arises cause i cant find any pics similar to these markings.

Are the dark spots on his back pre-molt?( he still eats like a champ) ... or are they some kind of damage because he crawls all over the cage so much and fell and hurt himself sometime? or are they over-eating or dehydration or.. sigh... it sucks not being an expert about something that relies on you to stay safe... anyway please look at the colorations in the pic and let me know what ya think.
IMG_20180901_020734026.jpg

Theneil

Arachnoprince
the Black patches are the remaining urticating hairs. Freshly after a molt you will see they are in a nice round-ish patch but between it's last molt and now it has kicked some of them off which is why it looks a bit broken up.

Nothing to worry about. Perfectly normal tarantula stuff.

Do look up urticating hairs though. For health and safty reasons it is important to understand them.