Is this a good setup for my A. Chalcodes?

chalcodesguy

Arachnopeon
20181118_131623.jpg I was wondering if this would be a good enclosure setup for my A. Chalcodes. This is my first tarantula, and I am new to this, so I don't know what works and what doesn't. You can see I have a plant pot hide, some leaves sprinkled around, the blue water dish ( far right behind rock) and a heating pad on the back of the enclosure. Does this work for an A. Chalcodes, or should I add or remove anything? P.S. it gets really cold in my room at night which is why I have the heat pad. The T is about 2.5 inches legspan.

Last edited:

antinous

Pamphopharaoh
Old Timer
Remove the heat pad, get a space heater if you really need to. Chances are you don’t, depending on your room temp. Add more substrate as well, a fall could lead to a dead tarantula.

kcuB yrogerG

Arachnopeon
I agree with the above poster. All in All it looks good though, I tend to add more moss and decor though with my larger tanks. Some of my T's tend to come out more when theres a decent amount of "foliage"

Newt83

Arachnopeon
How big is the Tarantula? Enclosure looks huge and you will need a lot more substrate. General rule is there should be no more than 1.5 times the diagonal leg span from the top of the enclosure to the substrate. The leaves scattered about are unnecessary and if the room it’s in stays between 68-85F the heat pad isn’t needed. You can also break the pot in half or at least bury most of it.

cold blood

Staff member
Lots of little issues.

First, the distance to the top is excessive...you really need to fill the tank just over halfway with sub to make it safe....its a fall risk as it sits now.

The hide, a pot can work, but it needs to be broken...hides should NEVER be dead ends...hides arent homes, they are starting points for burrows...think of the hide as merely the front door, not the house.