1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there any way to make mealworms live for a longer period of time?

Discussion in 'Insects, Other Invertebrates & Arthropods' started by Phormic28, Oct 7, 2018.

1. Phormic28

Phormic28 Arachnoangel Active Member

Advertisement
    As the title says, is there a way to make them last longer in the fridge? I’ve bought some at Petco (50 for $3.99 which is absurd tbh) and it hasn’t even been two weeks and most have died. Was looking into buying in bulk online (1,000-2,000 for 13 slings/juvies) since it is much cheaper, but I don’t want them dying on me within a few weeks. Anybody have any tips? Would putting them in oats w/ pieces of potato make them last longer?

2. I’m no expert but mine usually last a few months.
    I feed them potato slices. Lots of people do oatmeal though.

Cooling them down a bit might help slow the process too. Just don’t freeze them lol

• Like Like x 1
  3. tewebag

tewebag Arachnoknight Active Member

You can put them in the fridge just take them out once a week for a hour or so and give a little bit of carrot.

Or you can just turn those 50 into 50,000. Get some kind of tub (I prefer those three tall stacking drawers), fill it with a couple inches of oatmeal, then occasionally offer a water source (carrot/potato/etc), give them a month and you will have masses of them. It is super easy to get them breeding.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Bob Lee

Bob Lee Arachnosquire Active Member

Canada
    Breeding is the best way, your colony can out live you and your children if you do it right :rolleyes:.
    Or you can put them in the fridge(NOT the freezer), that would slow down their development a lot.
    There is also a way to "Freeze Roast" them to preserve them for more then five years.(Not alive, but your spider should still take them).

• Like Like x 1
  5. Phormic28