Is there any way to make mealworms live for a longer period of time?

antinous

Pamphopharaoh
Old Timer
As the title says, is there a way to make them last longer in the fridge? I’ve bought some at Petco (50 for $3.99 which is absurd tbh) and it hasn’t even been two weeks and most have died. Was looking into buying in bulk online (1,000-2,000 for 13 slings/juvies) since it is much cheaper, but I don’t want them dying on me within a few weeks. Anybody have any tips? Would putting them in oats w/ pieces of potato make them last longer?

Mini8leggedfreak

Arachnoknight
I’m no expert but mine usually last a few months.
I feed them potato slices. Lots of people do oatmeal though.

Cooling them down a bit might help slow the process too. Just don’t freeze them lol

tewebag

Arachnoknight
You can put them in the fridge just take them out once a week for a hour or so and give a little bit of carrot.

Or you can just turn those 50 into 50,000. Get some kind of tub (I prefer those three tall stacking drawers), fill it with a couple inches of oatmeal, then occasionally offer a water source (carrot/potato/etc), give them a month and you will have masses of them. It is super easy to get them breeding.

Bob Lee

Arachnobaron
Breeding is the best way, your colony can out live you and your children if you do it right :rolleyes:.
Or you can put them in the fridge(NOT the freezer), that would slow down their development a lot.
There is also a way to "Freeze Roast" them to preserve them for more then five years.(Not alive, but your spider should still take them).

antinous

Pamphopharaoh
Old Timer
I was thinking about breeding, but by then I don't think my tarantulas will need that many in the long run seeing as they're all slings of fast growing species. I'll probably just go with a 1,000 large mealworms (to make sure I have enough in case some die) and keep them in the fridge and hope they last a couple months.

Bob Lee

Arachnobaron