Is my T in premolt?

Malaric

Arachnopeon
Hello. I have bought my first T 4 days ago now :) B. Smithi. ( or mabey hamorri) i buy the T at a pet shop. Yes i know, dont buy at a petshop. But i couldent wait to get started with the hobby :) its to cold now here in my country to ship T's. Anyway, my T dosent wanna eat, and seem allmost scared when i try to give it a mealworm or cricket. The abdomen is really black i think, but its not that big? And no shiny spot. So, since im new to the hobby (newb) is there someone out there that can see if its in premolt? :)
Thank you so much!

Attachments

Minty

@londontarantulas
Welcome and that's a great looking tarantula. To me, it looks like a Brachypelma smithi.

It's got a good sized abdomen so you don't need to worry about it not eating for now, just make sure you keep the water dish topped up. It may be in premoult, or it may just not be hungry. Leave it a week or so and try again.

lostbrane

Arachnobaron
I think I see a slightly different colored patch on the back of the abdomen, so I'm fairly sure it is.

Thekla

Arachnoprince
I agree with @Minty, this looks actually like a B. smithi. Those are much rarer than B. hamorii. Beautiful T! :) Congrats!

Also, I think @lostbrane is right, the end of the abdomen looks quite dark underneath. So, she could be very well in premoult.
By the way, did you buy her as a confirmed female (or male) or is it unsexed? I mean, at this size it should be sexed. ;)

P.S.: I'd give her a bigger enclosure, this one seems too small for her.

Malaric

Arachnopeon
I agree with @Minty, this looks actually like a B. smithi. Those are much rarer than B. hamorii. Beautiful T! :) Congrats!

Also, I think @lostbrane is right, the end of the abdomen looks quite dark underneath. So, she could be very well in premoult.
By the way, did you buy her as a confirmed female (or male) or is it unsexed? I mean, at this size it should be sexed. ;)