If anyone can help.....Please

Noelle Penner

Arachnopeon
I work at a PET store and I've done great with the Herps and Arachnids. I love my bird eater. Here's the problem I was halfway through vet school but I am by no means an Arachnid expert. I'm a snake/Lizard expert. Anyways I have an employee who loves to show stuff off to his buddies. And I came and she literally Urticulated 90 % of the bristles off her back. I know it usually grows back but it looks like it might be getting infected. I have triple antibiotic ointment but I don't know if it's okay to use on her. Please anyone who .can help me help her, please get baçk to me.

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
They get their urticating hairs back by molting. Leave the poor thing alone.

Pics of spider are needed.

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +
I work at a PET store and I've done great with the Herps and Arachnids. I love my bird eater. Here's the problem I was halfway through vet school but I am by no means an Arachnid expert. I'm a snake/Lizard expert. Anyways I have an employee who loves to show stuff off to his buddies. And I came and she literally Urticulated 90 % of the bristles off her back. I know it usually grows back but it looks like it might be getting infected. I have triple antibiotic ointment but I don't know if it's okay to use on her. Please anyone who .can help me help her, please get baçk to me.
Images of the specimen in question, including the Enclosure within which it lives, are needed to fully assess this situation.

Urticating setae is designed to be discharged, so flicking it in and of itself would not cause harm. They regain their urticating Setae when they next molt.

One possible theory here? It is approaching a molt and the Abdomen is darkening up as a result thus making it appear to be 'infected" given that in mammalian organisms darkening tissue is a sign of rot/infection/necrosis.

Please post images of the Spider and its Enclosure. As clear as possible.