I need some advice...

Natalya Boothe

Arachnopeon
Im very new to Arachnoboards, and I only joined so I could ask this question. If its already been asked sorry for wasting a n thread on this but I couldnt find anything similar.

So ive got a Grammastola Rosea, shes about 4 and a half years old, I got her December of 2015. The pet store gave us all the wrong stuff for her, for a while we had a sponge in her water before we got rid of it, a really pathetic hide that had two open sides that she had to block up herself, and the completely wrong substrate: wood chips! Shes been starving herself, and ive read that for her species that normal every once in awhile, but shes really skinny and has webbed herself up in her hide. The last time she ate was last April, and im really worried about her. I use a lamp for heat but that just because my room isnt very temperature controlled and its winter. I dont know if I need it but I dont want her to get cold. Id also like some advice on what substrate i should get her and from where. Ive heard some things about coconut fiber, potting soil and peat moss? What I'm mainly worries about is that she so skinny and wont eat. I thought she was in premolt but her abdomen is supposed to get bigger not smaller? Anyway, sorry for the ramble but any advice on substrate or why shes not eating would be greatly appreciated. I really dont want her to die. Thanks

Attachments

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
Here's a simple arid terrestrial set up that I use for my porteri.
IMG_20181104_142118514.jpg
Peat moss for substrate. Coconut hide. And water dish from a peanut butter jar or something.

Temps 65+ will work just fine for them.
They like it very dry, so no need to focus on any humidity.
Screen lids are a no. If they climb onto them, they can get their claws stuck, dangle, and lose legs.
The cage is a exo tera breeder box. Cheap plastic Sterlite tubs work just as well too.
Feed this one every few months. But you can feed up to once every couple weeks.