I have finally given away my H.minax!

TownesVanZandt

Arachnoprince
For a long time I have not been comfortable dealing with an aggressive and highly unpredictable Haplopelma minax that I acquired a year and a half ago. It has been several incidents of the spider attacking my tongs when I have been doing cage maintenance. Usually I block the entrance of its burrow before doing anything inside the enclosure, but yesterday morning I returned from working in another city for a month and I was a bit stressed and overwhelmed with having fallen behind with maintenance of the 16 Ts I currently own. I was a bit tired and didn´t pay enough attention when the H. minax out of the blue decided to bolt onto my arm. Luckily for me it stopped when it had reached the end of my forearm. Even though I am by no means a newbie in this hobby, I felt panic rising inside of me and I had to use all my willpower to keep my nerve in order not to do something stupid that would have gotten me bitten. After freezing for what seemed like an eternity, but probably wasn´t all that long, I managed to carefully move and place my arm next to a table and the spider luckily decided to walk off my hand without biting. I then managed to catch it in a cup and placing her back into the enclosure.

After this incident I did what I should have done a long time ago, and contacted a guy that I previously have been exchanging slings with. He was happy to take her and came today to collect the spider. I even got a couple of bottles of wine in return, so this ended quite happily for everyone involved. Looking back at it however it is clear that I was really lucky that the spider stopped at my forearm and didn´t run further. Had it been situated on my back, I probably would have panicked and most likely getting bitten.

Radium

Outlaw Valkyrie