I had a snapping turtle on my front porch today

Sentinel

Arachnopeon
I'll add a picture tomorrow, it's late today, but this thing was 3 feet long or more. Had animal control come and take it. What's weird is it climbed up five steps to get where it was in the shade. And the lake is a LONG way away for it to crawl to my house. It was just sitting under a chair... weird creature.

This is it.

IMG_20150530_124024.jpg

Last edited:

ARACHNO-SMACK48

Arachnoknight
A three foot long snapping turtle? Im no turtle expert but that seems a bit extreme lol Why have animal control take it? From your description it didn't seem to be doing anything wrong. Do you know what animal control did with it?

cold blood

Staff member
You called animal control for a snapping turtle?

Ya know you can just pick them up by the tail, right? Easier to handle than a painter.

It undoubtedly was there either to lay eggs or on the way back from. I'm amazed that you felt the need to call someone for a turtle. And they're not as much weird as they are prehistoric...I really dig snappers, such impressive animals that live a ridiculous amount of time.

Funny that your profile claims "greatly in tune with animals" hehe...just sayin', it adds to the :?

HungryGhost

Arachnoknight
I had one in my front yard today too (pictured below). It's egg laying season and the females are looking for a safe place to lay. Sometimes they travel close to a mile looking for a suitable spot. My turtle was digging her nest but gave up because there were too many roots in the spot she chose. I live within sight of a small lake.

image.jpg

Sentinel

Arachnopeon

Ya know you can just pick them up by the tail, right? Easier to handle than a painter.

It undoubtedly was there either to lay eggs or on the way back from. I'm amazed that you felt the need to call someone for a turtle. And they're not as much weird as they are prehistoric...I really dig snappers, such impressive animals that live a ridiculous amount of time.