How to Keep C versicolor Sling Alive?

vive

Arachnopeon
Hi! So I’ve heard that c versicolors have really high death rates. I’ll be getting my own pretty soon which will be around 2 cm. I’m really really hoping I get it to adulthood though! So what I want to know is what are some critical things I need to know for taking care of them?

Vanisher

Arachnoking
Old Timer
There are sevral threads in the subject! Ventilation, some moisture and food!

Killertut

Arachnosquire
I’m actually quite new at this so an a versicolor is just the same as a c versicolor?
there was a revision of the avicularia family and they noticed that a lot of T's are not of the avicularia genus. they created a new genus for A. caribena and A. laeta: Caribena

baconwrappedpikachu

Arachnosquire
@The Grym Reaper @Vanisher

So I’ve finally gotten this little escape artist haha :happy: At its size, which enclosure would be better? (I’ll get to fixing it right away once I know).

I'm not sure which size would be better, but my C. versicolor sling is in an upside-down AMAC box (not sure if those are available where you are) because it likes to make its web hammock up in the very top corner of the enclosure. I would be nervous about putting one in a top-opening enclosure like that because there's the possibility of them making their web where it would get destroyed every time you unscrewed the lid.

vive

Arachnopeon
I'm not sure which size would be better, but my C. versicolor sling is in an upside-down AMAC box (not sure if those are available where you are) because it likes to make its web hammock up in the very top corner of the enclosure. I would be nervous about putting one in a top-opening enclosure like that because there's the possibility of them making their web where it would get destroyed every time you unscrewed the lid.
I actually ended up thinking about that as well and went to get a new enclosure. Is t okay?

Attachments

Thekla

Arachnoprince