how to dry out substrate?

dunsparce

Arachnopeon
Second time today posting about concern for my Ts. I'm new to the hobby, bear with me here...

I have a Haplopelma vonwirthi and I noticed today that his substrate is still pretty moist. I bought a thermometer/hygrometer and tested it today. The humidity in the enclosure topped out at 89% today, which seems really high. Its been about a week since I softened up the substrate (it was one of those eco earth blocks you put in water to expand) and its still not drying out. I was thinking the high humidity might have something to do with the fact that I'm in Florida and it rained today. Also, the enclosure is a plastic tub so maybe I haven't drilled enough holes in it.

Basically, my question is how do I dry out the substrate quicker? I can't exactly replace the substrate because the spider webbed himself into a corner real good and I don't want to destroy his webbing. He completely surrounded himself in webbing so I feel like he might molt soon.

Grammostola

Arachnopeon
When I'm drying out my tarantula's substrate I usually just leave it close by to my heater, the heater doesn't directly face the terrarium(s), but it is in the same room. The substrate usually dries out quickly, after that I usually just mist the cage to maintain the humidity. Hope that helps.

Malhavoc's

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Air flow also aids in drying anything, a small fan over the enclosure whill dry it out, and perhaps be less abrasive to ripping it apart/ baking it.

hamhock 74

Arachnobaron
Use less water than instructed on the packaging, I break up a brick with a crowbar then hand mix as much as I need.

Jared781

Arachnobaron
Crowbar is a good strategy! ill try that next time!!... Although, i hope no ones sees me as they'll think im mad

dunsparce

Arachnopeon
I'm liking the crowbar idea. I can dry the substrate and look like a mad man all in one fell swoop!

Stan Schultz

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
... I'm new to the hobby, bear with me here...