How should we continue the US hobby?

iPocalyspe

Arachnopeon

Before I start, I decided to post this in the Tarantula Questions & Discussions forum because I feel there are definite repercussions to the US hobby as this will questions how tarantulas enter the US hobby, US breeders, US importers, etc. and I feel this issue should be discussed. Please read through my post to see if this should stay in the Tarantula Questions & Discussions rather than being in Tarantula Chat. If it is deemed this should be in the Tarantula Chat my apologizes, feel free to delete this chat.

I'd like to start off saying that I am new to the hobby, and this is a question I have thought about deeply. "How should we continue the US hobby?" I think there are many things to consider and I will separate them, as I believe it will help understand them. So I aim to answer the following:

What are the ramifications of importing tarantulas?

*The impact on US breeders

*The possibility of wild caught tarantulas

*The issue of “brown boxing”

*The possibility of future import/export laws

One of the biggest issue I have heard is how importing affects US breeders. Importing is lowering the wholesale price of Ts to a point where it is not profitable for US breeders. This decreases the amount of people who will become breeders in the US, as it is costly and offers little reward with the risk of even more imported tarantulas. This plays into the fourth part.

There is a whole debate against captive-bred vs wild-caught tarantulas, but I will forgo this. There are clear environmental issues where selling wild tarantulas could drastically reduce their wild population. This could easily anger environmentalist and politicians (Either in the US or the country the tarantulas are coming from). Again, this plays into the fourth part.