How do I measure a scorpion?

port513

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
From what point to what point should I measure a scorpion to get the right size?

avd88

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Well Im not an expert but you can grab it with a pair of pliers with a rubber tip (so u dont hurt the scorp) and measure it with a ruler, thats what I would do. but how i said, Im not an expert.

fusion121

Arachnoking
Old Timer
As far as I'm aware you measure a scorpion from the front edge of the prosoma (head) to the telson (sting). A live scorpion is not easy to measure, you can however put them in the fridge for a while to calm them down.

Edit: Sometimes they seem to measured from prosoma to base of the tail as well, which can be useful since tail lengths are sometimes highly sexually dimorphic. I can't remember which is considered the official measurement.

Last edited:

avd88

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Fusion, is much more expierienced than me, listen to his adivice.

port513

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
fusion121 said:
As far as I'm aware you measure a scorpion from the front edge of the prosoma (head) to the telson (sting). A live scorpion is not easy to measure, you can however put them in the fridge for a while to calm them down.
Don't think my A. mauretanicus likes to be that cold ;)

EDIT:

And I will NEVER freehandle them, NO WAY!

Last edited:

fusion121

Arachnoking
Old Timer
A brief cooling will do nothing except make them more docile, even scorpions from extremely hot enviroments can withstand temperatures below 10C for a considerable time, which is handy for postage in the UK ;)

port513

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
fusion121 said:
A brief cooling will do nothing except make them more docile, even scorpions from extremely hot enviroments can withstand temperatures below 10C for a considerable time, which is handy for postage in the UK ;)
Maybe I skip this measurement ;) I don't really want to handle them if I don't have to ;)

SpaceHawk

Arachnoknight
Old Timer