Housing a first time Avic. Versicolor sling.

SpidaFly

Arachnopeon
I purchased a A. Versicolor sling yesterday at Kenthebugguy's shop in Tucson, and I've spent some time today trying to get a little enclosure built. As I live in the desert, maintaining humidity while providing adequate ventilation is one of my biggest concerns, and the discussion below will address this element of husbandry.

First, a pic of what I have. Fairly shoddy work to be sure, but it's my first time doing this. Please note that the "haze" visible on some parts of the plastic in the photo IS NOT condensation. I attempted to remove goo from a price sticker from the box and the acetone I used did that to the plastic - but since I was in a hurry to get the T in something more comfortable/arborial, I decided to use it anyway. Don't worry, I made sure it was washed and thoroughly dry/free of fumes before I used it!

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/4909/img2146rb.jpg

Within minutes of being rehomed, the T took down a cricket. A couple hours later, I noticed the T doing some webbing. I'm extremely glad that it is comfortable for the moment - but I know there's a lot of things to be addressed.

Since I've heard so much about adequate ventilation, I was generous with venting holes. Of course humidity is my next concern.

First question: I wanted to drill 1-3/8" holes in two sides with a hole saw, but I've read that screen is very bad for Avics so avoided it. Is there some unwoven screen-like material that is safe? Such as "plastic canvas"? With holes that size I'm hesitant to offer flightless fruit flies or crickets that could easily escape through the holes.