Hot Scorps

Reitz

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Let me preface this by saying that you are in no way responsible for my actions so if I take your advice and get stung, you are not at fault, I am. I just want to mention that because you don't really know me, so why would you tell me anything other than "Don't get one" in order to protect yourself legally. Just consider this a release form!

I've been putting off getting a hot scorpion because I had always considered the risk to be too high--not to myself, but to the others that I live with. I've been keeping scorps for over 2 years now, and have never really had the urge to get something dangerous. But lately I've been itching to venture into uncharted waters--that is to say, to keep something markedly different than what I currently have. Something that will offer a different kind of challenge, and will therefore yield a different kind of enjoyment. This is not to say that being dangerously venomous per se makes the scorp more interesting, but that I have yet to observe the habits of certain species because of their venom. Anyway, I was in a kitchen store the other day and saw deli style containers called "bains." These bains look like clear, heavy-duty plasic containers that are about as wide, deep and tall as a med. critter keeper, but are about twice as long. The lip of the container sticks out about 1.5 inches so that the lid snaps on securely. It's hard to explain, but the gist is that the containers have about 1.5 inches of top that sticks out with the lid. I could drill holes (4) in the lid-top meeting place and use small locks to secure it. The plasitic is so thick I doubt I could break it if I tried. Of course there would be air holes and whatnot, but what do you think? Sound (reletively) safe?

Sorry about the really long post!
Chris

Mr. X

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I think you're trying to hard.