Honduran Curly Hair Sling

TarantulaZP

Arachnopeon
Hello! So I am new to tarantulas and I am getting a sling soon. I know I shouldn't start with a sling but that's all I can really find near me and I have been doing a lot of research. But, when it comes to caresheets they all kind of differ. The sling I am getting is a Honduran curly hair and the store said it was about 1/4 of an inch leg span. I have lots of questions. How long with it take to grow? How will I know when it is big enough to be rehoused into an adult tank? When will I be able to tell if it is a boy or a girl? How do I regulate humidity and temp in a tiny sling habitat? How do I regulate humidity properly in the adult sized tank? I already have my glass adult sized terrarium with a top that has fine grid ventilation, coconut fiber substrate, a half log and I know I won't need these for a while but will I need a heating pad for the adult tank? My house is kept pretty cold in the winter like 60 degrees so should I have a heating pad? Really truly I just want to be sure of what I have been told online and in the pet stores. The lady at the pet store said I didn't need a heating pad and I didn't need to worry about humidity just mist the tank a couple times a week but that differs from what I have read online. I just want my baby to be in the best possible conditions! Thank you!

nicodimus22

Arachnomancer
Arachnosupporter
You can start off with a sling, especially if it's a hardy species. I did. It's now a 4 incher!

Growth depends on a number of factors, including temperature, feeding frequency, and biological variability. Warmer temps and more food means faster growth, although you don't want to overdo it. 70s and 2-3 feedings a week should be plenty.

Ideally, the footprint of a tarantula enclosure is roughly 2 times the diagonal leg span wide and 3 times the DLS long. It's not really an exact science. A 1/4 inch sling should be kept in a vial or pill bottle.