High School Bug Club

BobBarley

Arachnoprince
I am the founder & president of a Bug Club at the school I attend. Our purpose is to do away with the negative stigma around bugs and to replace it with knowledge & appreciation. Perhaps we can even foster a love for these bugs in my peers. :) I started the club last year as a freshman, but honestly didn’t do much with it because I was a scared freshman. :p

Our club meets every Friday and we talk about bugs, feed bugs, watch bugs, etc. My collection itself focuses mainly on centipedes, but I realize that centipedes can be seen as erratic and unpredictable. Thusly, we have mainly stuck with tarantulas as our “ambassador group”, so to speak, before introducing more of the diverse world of Arthropoda.

<edit>

I will be using this thread to update about our club in the future! We have some cool outreach things planned, so hopefully this thread will fill up with photos :).

Last edited by a moderator:

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
<edit>

I will be using this thread to update about our club in the future! We have some cool outreach things planned, so hopefully this thread will fill up with photos :).
I think it's fantastic any time I see a young person taking the initiative to start a club, share their interests, and educate their peers! I wish you well in your endeavors - and might have something more substantial than good wishes to offer, but your inbox is full so I can't message you.

BobBarley

Arachnoprince
I think it's fantastic any time I see a young person taking the initiative to start a club, share their interests, and educate their peers! I wish you well in your endeavors - and might have something more substantial than good wishes to offer, but your inbox is full so I can't message you.
Thank you! You could email me at brendanlan1118@gmail.com :)