hierodula membranacea advice

Dylan Bruce

Arachnosquire
Hey guys,

This is my first time keeping a mantis and have decided to go for a giant asian mantis nymph (L3+). I have kept tarantulas in the past so i know about the whole moulting cycle and pre moult phase where they will stop eating then shed. I've ordered the mantis and a 30x20x20cm enclosure for it as well which will be big enough for it at the nymph stage although it will probably outgrow it and have to go into a larger enclosure, I have a custom made one that is nearly ready that measures 350mm high by 350mm deep and 500mm long which i will probably put it in. so any advice on enclosure sizes and heating or just general tips and hints for a first time keeper will be much appreciated, i know online care sheets can be terrible and miss quite a lot out.

Dylan Bruce

Arachnosquire

Dylan Bruce

Arachnosquire
I also meant to add a little question about the feeding schedule for these guys, if fed every day through the week could they go two days without food over the weekend?

Dylan Bruce

Arachnosquire
Yeah they can! Just make sure the mantis is fat.
yeah I'll keep it nicely fed through the week but most weekend I'm away for a day or two. ill just spray the enclosure and feed it before I leave and as soon as i get home.

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +
I keep this species. They are fairly easy to look after. I spray mine once a day for water. As adults I feed them every other day or every 3 days as long as their abdomens are plump enough. At smaller instars I often feed them a bit more to get them larger faster but that is me. As long as the abdomen is plump (but not dangerously enlarged) then they're fine. They have a tendency to over-eat (like a lot of other inverts) so make sure you monitor that abdomen. If it is too large and dragging them down its a rupture risk.