Heterometrus moulting issue?

MattRess

Arachnopeon
I'm new to scorpions and last week my heterometrus species refused food. This week I come to feed him and find him like this (there is usually cork bark above his burrow). 20190125_120934[1].jpg He has been like this for the better part of a day so far. My worry is that he doesn't have enough room in his burrow to properly moult. Is this normal? Any advice from more seasoned people would be greatly appriciated.

BlueEyeOrb

Arachnopeon
I would give him time, I haven't personally seen my Asian forest scorpions molt (Normally just find it later on) but I do know its a extremely tense situation for them that can take hours. Just leave him be for now and if you come back every couple hours to check on him. Don't mess with him, just even picking him up or moving him is enough to kill them in this situation.

Dry Desert

Arachnoprince
I would give him time, I haven't personally seen my Asian forest scorpions molt (Normally just find it later on) but I do know its a extremely tense situation for them that can take hours. Just leave him be for now and if you come back every couple hours to check on him. Don't mess with him, just even picking him up or moving him is enough to kill them in this situation.
DO NOT check or fiddle with at all, leave well alone and let nature take its course, it will happen when it happens.

MattRess

Arachnopeon
Springtails have gathered around him now, but he is still alive. Is there something I can do like spray him with water or something?

Dry Desert

Arachnoprince
Springtails have gathered around him now, but he is still alive. Is there something I can do like spray him with water or something?
The substrate looks plenty moist enough, it's possilbly trying to recover from a bad molt, all you can do now is wait - any spraying or moving/checking will only add additional stress. Sorry there's nothing else you can do.

G. Carnell

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Looks like he has his claws caught