Help with B. Dubia

MadMack2723

Arachnopeon
Hello all! I'm new to the forums as this is my first time posting, I first would like to thank everyone for all of the wonderful posts as it has helped me a great deal in choosing my first T a few months ago and everything has been going great! I recently purchased 3 B. Dubia to try and give my A. avicularia a new item to it's diet, after trying for a few weeks he/she won't touch them, so back to crickets . So I have been feeding and taking care of the roaches. Last night I go to give them another orange slice and OMG, there were a lot more than 3! The big female must of been pregnant. There are 31 babies! Ok so my question is (I've read on how to start colonies) what do I do? I can't purchase a plastic bin and water crystals until Sunday. I have a styrofoam cooler, a few pieces of egg crate like things and that's about it. Will this work for a few days? Should they be separated from the larger ones? I don't see why they should, just a huge shock to me and trying to figure out what to do with them. I only have the one T so far, although planning on getting more very shortly, lol. I can't see letting them die but I didn't really want to start a colony yet. Any advice , suggestions, constructive criticism would be great! Tia.
(I hope I posted in the right before place, if not I apologize)

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
They climb very well. While they cannot climb smooth glass or plastic, they can definitely climb styrofoam - and can also climb textured plastic surfaces such as the inside of some of the Rubbermaid-type plastic bins. Unless the styrofoam cooler has an airtight seal, there's a very good chance that they'll climb right out of it - and start popping up all over the house. The nymphs, in particular, are very good at wedging themselves through the narrowest of cracks.