Help Identify Tarantula

Tarantulaszzzz

Arachnopeon
Hello Tarantula lovers,
I'm new in tarantula and i love them a lot. Recently got this Bird Eater Tarantula (t. Blondi) but i just wanna make sure if it's. Can u guys help to identify haha 17098188_10208887529445362_6069107934702359723_n.jpg
16996302_10208887493204456_1481974803046352594_n.jpg

Oliverhenderson

Arachnopeon
that is NOT a t blondi it looks like L parhybana you should also change the setup a fall from that high would kill it

Tarantulaszzzz

Arachnopeon
that is NOT a t blondi it looks like L parhybana you should also change the setup a fall from that high would kill it
Thanks!... yup i realise its not t blondi :( it looks like L parhybana... just wanna check with you because i know T blondi need higher humidly and temperature does L parhybana too? I might need to change everything! :( 17022027_10208887613287458_5495555649351341299_n.jpg

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
You're not going to like what I have to say ;)

1) Yeah, definitely not a T. blondi, and likely not a Theraphosa at all. It does indeed look like an L. parahybana, but identifying a spider from a picture is often difficult. You should actually be hoping for an LP simply because they're bounds easier to keep than any Theraphosa while still keeping the impressive size. In terms of humidity, just overflow the water dish and allow the substrate to dry out completely before overflowing again. That is all.

2) The enclosure will have to go. ExoTerra's aren't great because there's no way for you to raise the substrate due to the doors. I'd try to return it if at all possible - a heavy spider taking a fall like that would be bad news. Not my most exciting video, but here is a guide on how to set up terrestrial enclosures. Remember: no heat mats! If the temperatures are staying above 65F, then you're perfectly fine.