Heat sources when you're not home...am I overly paranoid?

edesign

AB FB Group Moderatr
Old Timer
Dug around a bit via Google and the forum search engine, lots of heat source info but that's not quite what I am after. I have a huge fear of my home catching fire and burning down when I'm not home. It would be upsetting to lose the T's but I'd probably lose it if my two cats perished.

So I'm wondering for those of you with additional heat sources such as oil-filled radiant heaters, heat mats, heat tape, etc. do you turn those off when you're not at home or do you leave them on? I'm considering adding some heat sources, more for next winter as it's almost over here in CO (70+ today, garbage, it's winter time lol) and I don't have AC, I have an attic vent fan with some large trees and good insulation, even when 90F out it's comfortable inside so summer will be comfortable for the T's, but am afraid to leave them on when I'm not home.

I'm an electrical engineer so I'm sure I could rig up a system using smoke detectors with output contacts to kill power to specific circuits if I wanted to get fancy but that still wouldn't quell my fear unless I installed a fire suppression system (smoke detector may not pick up until a fire has started at which point killing the power source is probably too late). Yes, I overthink sometimes :)

Anyway, just curious if everyone who uses some type of supplemental heat source leaves them on when they're not home or not.

TownesVanZandt

Arachnoprince