Are G. Pulchras really docile/tolerant?

• Yes

Votes: 33 80.5%
  • No

Votes: 8 19.5%

• Total voters

LotusBlossom

Arachnopeon
Hi, I just got my first T, a G. Pulchra, about 3 years old.

I am curious as to what behavior is considered usual for this species, I know they are all different and unpredictable, but I am still curious to know some pointers as I get to know he/she better with time. Her behavior has seemed unusual, although I guess I do not know what is usual since this is my first time observing a T first hand. A little history below.

I have had it for about a week now, I say "it" because I don't know the sex yet. The first day I held it at the breeder's house, it was extremely docile and calm. After I got it home, I decided to give it space and respect so that it can acclimate to the new changes. I changed its enclosure to a 10 gallon tank with about 2 inches of substrate, a shallow water dish (No sponge, I took it out after I read it is not good to have), and a coconut shell as a hide out (it seems to love it, as it made webbing by the entrance already and is regularly inside it). I also have a heater in the room to keep it around 75 degrees. I misted the substrate once so far out of fear that the heater is drying out the air. The lid to the tank is a well ventilated screen.

Since I got it home, I have tried to feed it two crickets and it has not showed any interest whatsoever. Also, it seems to hang out a lot in the corner of the tank, I do not know if this is normal behavior, or if I should be concerned. And the last couple of times I tried to handle it (no more than once a day), it has walked away and pointed its abdomen up as well as kicking hairs once. I know they only TOLERATE being handled, but the breeder said this was his most docile, and it should be fine for me to attempt to hold it once a day.