GRAMMOSTOLA AUREOSTRIATA growth rate

rex_arachne

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
i have a 1 cm. G. aureostriata sling and it's been with me for a month now and hasn't molted yet in my care. this is my first time to have a chaco golden knee. it's been feeding well/normally (twice a week feeding of pinheads). what i want to hear from those who have this T: are they fast growers? how often do they molt during early "slinghood"? TIA. :)

Snipes

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Even though Grammastolas are a slow grower genus (roseas are EXCRUCIATINGLY slow), i have found that G. aureostriatas grow at a lot faster speed. But then again, i have two males. In 16 months, they have gone from less than .5" to 3.5".

YouLosePayUp

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
have a female here and she has gone from about 1.5" - 2.75" in 15 months but I'm expecting a monstrous molt anytime :wall:

Sunar

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
My G. aureostriata has grown pretty quick I think. It's also one of my favorite T's. Very docile, looks nice and is a piggy eater. :)

~Fred

Nerri1029

Chief Cook n Bottlewasher
Old Timer
Mine Started out as a 1/2" sling June 1st 2005
By december it was over two inches.. after 4 molts
Now it's almost 3 inches ofter just one more molt.

fast growers?? not really but a spider can get up to 7-8 inches .. worth the wait

TheNatural

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Genus Grammostola are the in the group "the most slow growers ever" sit and wait if you have a female but this genus is also very calm and docile and shall live maaaany years.

good luck!

MindUtopia

Arachnoking
Old Timer
To echo what others have said, it's not terribly slow (what you would expect from say, G. rosea) but it's not fast either. I have a friend who got a approx. 1/2" sling in summer of 2005. It's now about 3" and sexed a female. So that will give you an idea. As slings they probably molt every 2-3 months just generally speaking.

GailC

Arachnoprince
Old Timer