Giving water to spiders - how?

zergo512

Arachnopeon
Hi

I captured two types of spiders:

1. Pholcus phalangioides, very small but with very long legs (he loves to live high and upside down)
2. Clubiona corticalis, (he prefer shade and low levels)

Clubiona corticalis: I once dropped him small piece of... carrot and I was surprised that he actually came to it and began to suck(or lick?) water from it. Today (afer like 5 days of no water) I dropped him wet cotton and he almost instantly (HE CAN SMELL WATER!) ran to it and began to suck(or lick?) it. It was amazing.

Now the problem is that I don't know how to "force" Pholcus phalangioides to drink as wet cotton balls are on the bottom of jar while spider is at the top (constantly). How to force him to drink? (in case that he is too stupid or afraid to descend to ground level to that cotton ball).

Thank you all! (im new to this hobby)

Tenodera

Arachnobaron
They get a lot of their moisture from food; tossing it a couple of fat flies might be the most reliable method. Otherwise, use a pipettes to drip water on its web or the wall and the spider will drink if it's thirsty.

Ciphor

Arachnoprince
Hi

I captured two types of spiders:

1. Pholcus phalangioides, very small but with very long legs (he loves to live high and upside down)
2. Clubiona corticalis, (he prefer shade and low levels)

Clubiona corticalis: I once dropped him small piece of... carrot and I was surprised that he actually came to it and began to suck(or lick?) water from it. Today (afer like 5 days of no water) I dropped him wet cotton and he almost instantly (HE CAN SMELL WATER!) ran to it and began to suck(or lick?) it. It was amazing.

Now the problem is that I don't know how to "force" Pholcus phalangioides to drink as wet cotton balls are on the bottom of jar while spider is at the top (constantly). How to force him to drink? (in case that he is too stupid or afraid to descend to ground level to that cotton ball).