Getting First T...Sling, sub-Adult, or mature specimen?

PeteParker240

Arachnopeon
Hello all....My question is for my first T should I get a sling, Sub-adult or mature tarantula. I am an ULTIMATE novice and have never had a spider or been around anything other than common house spiders. I am doing this to combat mild arachnophobia. So I feel that getting a sling will help me grow in comfort with the T as it starts small and gradually grows...but I hear slings are typically very fast. So then I figured I would get an adult to have a specimen to watch and enjoy...but worried about my ability to deal with an escape, lol. So as far as getting comfortable with T's as pets what do you guys suggest? Also...I want to get a Grammostola Pulchra as my first and understand they grow PAINFULLY slow.

Any suggestions on what phase to buy or maybe a change in the species to get something small that will grow quickly while still being on the lower side of the scale when it comes to defensiveness? Thanks in advance for the input...

Liquifin

Arachnoking
G. pulchra is a good start especially as a sling, the colors of jet black slowly grows into them with age. The choice of species to best start in the tarantula hobby is Brachypelma or Grammostola genus. So G. Pulchra is a good starter tarantula. The only problem is that G. pulchra is kind of hard to come around in the hobby. But they are worth it imo.

Wolfspidurguy

Arachnobaron