GBB versus Pink zebra tarantula vs GBB

Psychdoc

Arachnopeon
I love the Mexican Beauty but read some negative reviews on its temperament. I also am considering the GBB and the pink zebra. Because my son is 4, he would likely get tired of it so I need something that I want but at the same time something docile, not to skittish, and able to be handled so that he can have a good first experience and not get bitten and so that my husband won't leave me! Lol. Also, I am a big animal lover and currently have 2 giant African Millipedes, a ferret, and a leopard tortoise so I have some experience in importance of husbandry.

ShyDragoness

Arachnobaron
Thing is- none of them, if you want to handle that is, there is no species of tarantula that can/should be handled safely not only for the child/yourself but the animal, that's why people are being sarcastic, they get it alot

Gossamer

Arachnopeon
First off, I would not recommend getting a tarantula if your sole purpose is to handle it. There is a reason you're getting a lot of negative responses to this post. Tarantulas are observational pets, and they do not enjoy handling. If you so much as breathe on the T, you will scare it - all Ts are 'skittish' in this regard.

There are two things you absolutely cannot guarantee: 1. The tarantula will not bite (or flick hairs, for that matter) and 2. Your son will not fling and hurt it if it makes any sudden movements, even if it isn't a bite. I can only see this ending badly, especially for the animal. As an animal lover to another animal lover, I would seriously re-think this decision. There are countless examples of T's being flung to their death because of inexperienced handling. I think everyone here would like to avoid that as much as possible.

If you want a 'cool exotic' pet to be handled, may I suggest a reptile? Snake, lizard, etc.

Psychdoc

Arachnopeon