G. Rosea Refurb - Also hello everyone!

Abbio

Arachnopeon
Hi Folks!

I'm new to Arachnoboards and this is my first post, although I've had my G. Rosea for 5 years now I've decided its about time to join the community!

I recently cleaned her enclosure out and gave her fresh coco fibre substrate this was about 2 weeks ago now and she is still climbing the walls, I've even packed it down following some guidance i read in anther post but she just doesn't seem to like it anymore!

I have her in an exo terra 30x30x30 with a fish tank ornament log down the middle for a hide along with a water dish, shes seemed happy enough in her hide before but now shes either on top of it or on the sides.

Whilst I've been researching I've seen a few interesting looking terranium ideas and would like to know the best plants for a G. Rosea enclosure also i've seen a few with some dry looking grassy tumble weed stuff could anyone tell me what this is, i'm sure it doesn't offer anything for the T but it does make the enclosure look more natural!

I'm also thinking about ditching the ornament and creating a hide with some cork bark stuck in the substrate to make a little cave... now the substrate... i've also read that coco fibre is frowned upon as its nothing like their natural habitat and its best to use a soil sand mix? exactly what soil and sand is best... and would this be recommended or do you think that all these changes would cause more stress than its worth?

I have also included a picture for sexing, i'm assuming that shes a she!

IMG_7850.JPG IMG_3758.JPG IMG_3752.JPG

Paul1126

Arachnoangel
Second and third picture substrate looks a little wet which may explain the wall climbing and to my understanding this species hates even slightly damp substrate. I could be wrong though, I've never been told coco fibre is bad for tarantulas.
It's a beaut of a T though.

boina

Lady of the mites
I recently cleaned her enclosure out and gave her fresh coco fibre substrate