"Forest scorpion" what do I have?

HungryGhost

Arachnoknight
I bought this scorpion at petstore today. They simply listed it as a forest scorpion but I was wondering if anyone could offer any more info as far as what species. Also looks to be a male to me. He's quite a lively scorpion. I'm new to scorpions, I have an h. spinifer scorpling about an inch long.
image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Jarvis

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Definitely a male, not positive on the which heterometrus sp. I would guess h. Laoticus

Last edited:

Galapoheros

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
I think it's H. petersii, ..granulation on carapace. They look a lot like laoticus but laoticus has no granulation on carapace, that was the last I read anyway. I have some of these also, kind of spunky. They can get along but if it's a little crowded and they freak out a little, things can go wrong.

Jarvis

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Good eye I didn't catch that, but just to make things more confusing it might possibly be h. Cyaneus

Galapoheros

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
I guess so, a lot it could be. cyaneus look like they have longer chela pebbled looking granulation on the chela going by pics I looked at though. Never know what's labeled incorrectly on the internet also. The most mislabeled imo is H. spinifer, I seen so many diff sps. labeled spinifer that it makes a person not even care anymore haha.

Jarvis

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I guess so, a lot it could be. cyaneus look like they have longer chela pebbled looking granulation on the chela going by pics I looked at though. Never know what's labeled incorrectly on the internet also. The most mislabeled imo is H. spinifer, I seen so many diff sps. labeled spinifer that it makes a person not even care anymore haha.