First Week With Spiderlings

Robotic Cook

Arachnopeon
Hello. I am brand new to the hobby having only gotten my first ever tarantulas last week. They are all tiny slings. Euathlus sp red (Esmeralda), Grammostola pulchripes (Magrat) and Brachypelma albopilosum. (Ridcully)

It has been interesting watching the differences in their behaviors over the week. Esme tends to wander around before bolting for the burrow when I try to Look at her. Ridcully has locked him self in a burrow at the bottom of the pill vile, but I can see him since he has scraped away all the soil away from the plastic. Magrat is extremely sluggish with a abdomen that looks like a dark swollen grape. She tends to sulk in a small depression in the soil. I wondering if she is in premolt...

Tried feeding them last Friday. Gave each a third of a cut up meal worm. Esme ate hers before wearing the hollowed husk on top of her head like a hat inside the burrow. I did not see Ridcully eat his but the food vanished from sight. I don't see it in his burrow so I dont know what he did with it. And as far as I know Magrat plain ignored it. Going to try feeding Esme and Ridcully again tonight. Not sure if I should try feeding Magrat again or just leave her alone until I can get some fruit flies and micro meal-worms for them to nom.

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
Kudos to you for the scientific names :)

Your G. pulchripes is likely in premolt, yes. You'll see slings that look like they're about to pop. You should skip feeding for a week, your spider is likely due for a molt. Be sure to keep it slightly humid and you'll have a bigger, hungry spider in no time. You seem to have done your research. People in this hobby will respect you for that, it's an unfortunately uncommon trait.

Welcome to the hobby. You'll want to buy some shelves.

Robotic Cook

Arachnopeon
Kudos to you for the scientific names :)