First timer keeping a scorpion

Kurozukin

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone. I've bought this little fella in April, but sadly he/she still didn't eat. Tried different "meals" to no avail. Doesn't even bother with whatever I give him crickets/worms/cockroaches, they continue to live like roommates :). It regularly drinks water, bathes in the pod, it's very active during night time but still doesn't want any kind of food. Any help or suggestion is appreciated.

The scorpion is Heterometrus Spinifer if I'm not given something else :). Also if anyone knows to identify if it's male or female please tell me.

Stugy

Arachnolord
Scorpions tend to go on fasts every once in a while. Many of my scorpions have gone longer than a good 5 months without eating. Don't worry as long as you keep everything correctly he/she will eventually eat :) As of sexing, I'm not too good at it at all but my guess is that your spinifer is a male. @ArachnoDrew any thoughts?

Kurozukin

Arachnopeon
Thanks for the info Stugy.
It seemed "wrong" for me that since I bought the scorpion it hasn't eaten.Never seen it do so and I've thought I'm doing something wrong and killing the poor thing.

Jason Brantley

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Your substrate is bone dry. You will need a hygrometer and thermostat. Pour a little very warm water in there and mix it up a bit. Get the humidity to around 70%. Add a heat lamp (or heat pad) with a cheap 60 watt light bulb to stimulate it's appetite (for destruction...jk) and normal night/day cycle. A light isn't necessary but it provides some heat and can get your little dude eating on a regular basis. Put some kind of screen lid on it and cover it with something (like a towel or Rubbermaid container lid or thin sheet of acrylic) to keep the humidity and heat in but let some fresh air in there so don't cover it completely.

Last edited:

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
These guys are jungle dwelling burrowerers. Your set up is incorrect.