[First time keeper] Help identifying spider

CatTricks

Arachnopeon
Hi, total spider newbie here. I found what I believe is a giant house spider in my home recently and decided it would be fun to keep him/her so I can start to learn how to care for spiders. I've never seen such a large spider before! I'd really appreciate help with identification and gender. I've read if it's a mature male, it's a better idea to just let him go so he can find a mate before he dies. I want to make sure I do the right thing here. Pics attached.

Attachments

Eagle555 Jumping spiders

Arachnosquire
I was wrong :)
Hi, total spider newbie here. I found what I believe is a giant house spider in my home recently and decided it would be fun to keep him/her so I can start to learn how to care for spiders. I've never seen such a large spider before! I'd really appreciate help with identification and gender. I've read if it's a mature male, it's a better idea to just let him go so he can find a mate before he dies. I want to make sure I do the right thing here. Pics attached.
[/QUO looks like a wolf spider male

Last edited:

CatTricks

Arachnopeon
Thanks for the reply. Is there a particular reason you're thinking wolf spider vs. giant house spider? I've got pics of both pulled up and it still looks more like a giant house spider to me. I could definitely be wrong though.

Eagle555 Jumping spiders

Arachnosquire
Thanks for the reply. Is there a particular reason you're thinking wolf spider vs. giant house spider? I've got pics of both pulled up and it still looks more like a giant house spider to me. I could definitely be wrong though.
@CatTricks You are right, it is definitely not lycosid but agelenid. Most likely Eratigena duellica.
Yeah I have wolf spiders that are very large around my house but I looked up giant house spider and your right. Sorry I’m still working on my identification abilities 😂

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
Any idea if it's male or female by chance?