Exploding spider???(over-eating)

zwd22

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi,
I'm new to these things, and this is gonna sound pretty stupid, but can a tarantula eat itself to death???

I got my new G.aureo sling, and fed him/her one cricket, my gut tells me that should be no problem, but it's abdomen is sooooo swollen looking.

And just out of curiosity, tarantulas leave the exoskeletons alone when they eat right?

zwd22

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
k thanks,
it's just that i thought that animals instinctively overeat to store food, since in the wild they won't get a steady diet. That's y us humans get fat sumtimes too right?? :razz:

Chilobrachys

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
ive only been in the hobby for 3 years now but in my experience if they dont take food right away i lay off for a while cause there either fasting or molting

Mushroom Spore

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
it's just that i thought that animals instinctively overeat to store food, since in the wild they won't get a steady diet.
This is absolutely true. You CAN feed a tarantula all it will eat all the time, but this is somewhat unnatural and there are side effects. If you type "powerfeeding" into the forum search engine, you'll get a lot of in-depth discussion on the subject. :)

I'll just add this, though: no creature on earth really benefits from being obese. If your T looks bloated, you may want to lay off feeding it until it looks more reasonable (it may not until it molts, they always lose some weight when they do that).

Aurelia

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
^I want to add to what Mushroom Spore said and say that the fatter they are, the higher a risk there is for injury from falling. It's like a balloon and if their exo is stretched too tight, it becomes weak.

zwd22

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
If your T looks bloated, you may want to lay off feeding it until it looks more reasonable (it may not until it molts, they always lose some weight when they do that).