Excavator clay/playsand mixing 70/30 pls help

Malystryx

Arachnopeon
I have a 20 gallon tank for hadrurus arizonensis. I bought 10 pounds of excavator clay and 100 pounds of washed playsand. How do I mix the two properly? I want to do 70/30 but I've never used excavator clay before and I don't know how to do the mixing. No one on these forums seems to know how.

Can someone please explain what I need to do???

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
How compacted is the clay? Can it be easily broken up into fully loose material - which is what you have to do. Aggregate companies normally run hard clays through the crush simply for convenience. Once it is loose material, unless you have a concrete mixer, make two piles of the correct proportions and grab the hoe.

Malystryx

Arachnopeon
How compacted is the clay? Can it be easily broken up into fully loose material - which is what you have to do. Aggregate companies normally run hard clays through the crush simply for convenience. Once it is loose material, unless you have a concrete mixer, make two piles of the correct proportions and grab the hoe.
What? Idk the bag says to add 3 cups of water to 10 gallon of excavator clay but does that mean like measuring cup used for cooking? Also, do I mix the clay with water first and then add it to the playsand, or do I just mix the 70/30 then add 3 cups of water? Also how do I mix 70/30

The Snark

Old Timer
3 cups or 2/3rds of a quart water to the clay, mixing until uniform consistency. They are using volume measurements and appear to want to break up the clay with sand, making it more workable.

So make a test batch. Start with a quart of clay, add 1/8th to 1/4 cup of water then add 2 1/3rd quarts of sand and mix thoroughly. Does the mix appear to be what is desired?
This is assuming it is 30 clay to 70 sand. If it is the other way around, the consistency seems wrong, reverse it by adding 4 1/2 more quarts clay to the mix you just made and 1/2 cup more water.