Escaped tarantula?

Sannah

Arachnosquire
I have a B.Smith who is 5 months old. I've never had a tarantula before so I'm new to it all. My cousins came to visit today and wanted to see her, so when they left I put her back in her enclosure. I'm pretty sure I closed the lid properly and a few hours later she wasn't in her hide. I used the flash on my phone to make sure I could see in her hide but she wasn't there. I don't know if she is hiding or she escaped. Please help! What do I do if she did escape?

Krystal Anne

Arachnosquire
How big is your tarantula? Do you have any photos of her before she went missing?

Also, can you post a photo of the whole enclosure?

SpaceM

Arachnosquire
Is it possible that she is burrowed behind something else or deeper in the hide where you can't see her? Brachypelma are terrestrial species so if she escaped she is probably down low somewhere or hiding under something near to the enclosure. I'd start by moving things carefully out of the room piece by piece to track her down. A picture of your set up and the surrounding area would always help.

Ellenantula

Arachnoking
Well, it's sad if you lost your T -- hopefully it is just hiding. BUT...

You shouldn't take a T out to show it to someone. If they can't see it in the enclosure, then... so be it. Ts don't like being disturbed or handled. Any handling or unnecessary removal from its enclosure just increases the risk to the T.

Now I don't know if your T just wasn't as easily seen in its enclosure, or if your cousins just wanted a closer a look, or if your T was in its hide making it impossible to view... But especially if your T was hiding -- a hiding T should be allowed to hide if it wants. Ts need to feel safe and secure.

Sad thread, hope you find your T.

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
Her carapace is too big to fit through the vent holes. Would placing a water dish or hide spot lure her out?
A pre killed feeder would be your better option.