Enclosures for my slings

BrittanyDelafuente

Arachnopeon
Hello I'm new to caring for slings (I have a mature Lasiodora parahybana that came with my husband) we just got another Lasiodora parahybana and a Brachypelma albopilosum both of which are about dime sized. I made up these enclosures today and wanted to get some feedback on them if they needed anything else added. I made little tunnel hides for them and placed a piece of bark with a leaf attached to hide under as well.
20180605_183135.jpg 20180605_183037.jpg 20180605_183122.jpg 20180605_183100.jpg 20180605_183528.jpg Thank you for any help!

Whitelightning777

Arachno-heretic
Bravo!!

They look great, nice and crystal clear and decorated tastefully. Tarantulas are pretty adaptable and usually get settled in to be fed.

Unless a tarantula looks severely under fed, wait a few days to a week before feeding & always use a water dish.

BrittanyDelafuente

Arachnopeon
Thank you so much for the help! My husband just got them and will be bringing them home soon. I'm so excited!
Bravo!!

They look great, nice and crystal clear and decorated tastefully. Tarantulas are pretty adaptable and usually get settled in to be fed.

Unless a tarantula looks severely under fed, wait a few days to a week before feeding & always use a water dish.

cold blood

Staff member
Gotta disagree.

The #1 biggest mistake with regards to sling housing is using an enclosure thats too large and/or too well appointed.

This set up is both....which will lead to excessive hiding and burrowing...which leads to a poor(er) feeding response and a sling thats nearly impossible to monitor. Growth rates IME are 4-5 times slower in such enclosures.

I always suggest keeping things simple for NW terrestrial slings...a simple condiment cup works great...just keep part of the sub damp, and when it dries add moisture.

BrittanyDelafuente

Arachnopeon
Gotta disagree.