Enclosure questions.

cooperevans001

Arachnosquire
Hey there. I am somewhat new to T keeping, and I would like to know what things I could do to improve my Pinktoes life. She is very good at eating, moving around, and well hydrated. I just dont know about her cage setup. She is currently held in a large, tank, which is not vertical much, with mulch substrate, and her faux log. What things could I do, other than a different cage, to improve her quality of life? I am thinking things like different substrate, decorations, and different feeding schedule (I currently feed her 3 med crickets every 2 weeks or so). I want to make her life as natural and as happy as I can. Any tips and advice would help. Thanks!

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
It's nice to see someone ask this type of information, instead of the typical "My Avic is Dying" post we usually read.

I have kept a lot of Avics over time, as do others on here.

Put up a pic before specific meaningful advice for you can be provided. A full side pic of container and one from above (showing the inside of course) would be needed.

Also, more specifics are needed. DLS of the T, and adjectives such as "large" provide no information at all, esp w/out knowing the size of the T. We aren't mindreaders ;)

In the meantime here's a link for you to read http://arachnoboards.com/threads/avicularia-husbandry.282549/#post-2461399

The only thing I can provide as of now is the substrate. I typically use cocofiber, and they only get an inch, they are arboreal as I assume you know.

Your container should be vertically oriented, but again, depends on the size of the T. Meaning if you have a 1" Avic there are containers that aren't as tall it would be fine, but not if it was 4-6" in size.

Last edited:

Leonardo the Mage

Arachnosquire