1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Enclosure for Goliath Birdeater?

Discussion in 'Vivariums and Terrariums' started by Billboosie, Feb 10, 2018.

1. Billboosie

Billboosie Arachnopeon

Alabama
    Advertisement
    Hello everyone, i am a relative noob and I have just recently bought what the pet store claims is a Goliath Birdeater. I’m unsure but regardless, I like him a lot.

However, I skimped a little bit on the enclosure and I think I shouldn’t have. I just have a 20 gallon aquarium tank. I’ll put up a picture of the setup and the T.

Mainly, I have noticed that the humidity is staying rather high and after a week, some slight white mold has appeared. I’ve been keeping the humidity around 80-90% and temp in low 70s. I put the substrate in damp and the tank has no cross ventilation. I’ve been venting it by having the ceiling fan go above it 6C0A336B-93A9-47A5-B611-738FC1C367DE.jpeg 86271D9A-DDBD-475E-A02D-81CCFC250E6D.jpeg E296236F-3B42-4B3C-BE8F-EAEBF129FF80.jpeg 6C0A336B-93A9-47A5-B611-738FC1C367DE.jpeg 86271D9A-DDBD-475E-A02D-81CCFC250E6D.jpeg E296236F-3B42-4B3C-BE8F-EAEBF129FF80.jpeg which seems to work.

He also hasn’t been coming out of his hide much at all after the first few days. Is that normal behavior? I ask because I hope I haven’t made him uncomfortable.

Should I go tomorrow and get one with better ventilation? Am I doing anything else badly wrong?

• Face Palm Face Palm x 1
  2. spookyvibes

spookyvibes Arachnoknight Active Member

Indiana