Easy species to breed?

J.huff23

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I am an amateur in the T breeding area of the hobby. I have gotten sacs from P.murinus and aphonopelma species before, but they basically breed themselves. I am currently working with C.fasciatum which is frustrating because after one session of the female being receptive but no insert being noticed, she is not responsive at all. I have tried 3 desperate times in the past few years with 3 different females with this species and I haven't even gotten a sac. So I'm about ready to give up on this species because its so disheartening

What species would you guys recommend as a less difficult species to breed?

Pociemon

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Poecilotheria ornata would be a good one. They are pretty straight forward. Introduce a wet period for 3 to 4 weeks, just mist 1 a day or so. Then introduce the male. If you see insertion take him out, otherwise give him a night at first. Let him make a new web and let him in again, maybe let him stay there, he is a good meal. But if you want to sell him or use him again i reccomend you give him 1 night and then out 3 times. After that just keep it warm in there, around 27C. I have had sacs made within a month from the first mating. Normally i would expect it after 3 months. But they are not so difficult. Just watch your fingers while transferring ;-)

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
I have gotten sacs from P.murinus and aphonopelma species before, but they basically breed themselves.
Problems come in because we're not providing conditions close enough to their natural habitat; temps, humidity, elevation, seasonal changes, soil, food, etc. Other factors include: 1) captive T's grow and mature based the temps they're kept at and how much they're fed, so male's maturities doesn't necessarily match the annual cycles of females, & 2) many T keepers get overanxious and try to pair up females that may be too young.