Dwarf White Isopods going Ham on springtails??

arachnodad93

Arachnosquire
Hey guys!!!! So, I had started a isopod and springtail colony in with my hissing cockroaches and it took maybe afew weeks or so for them to get going and I was seeing them throughout the substrate, under the corkbark tunnel, attacking the small piece of molded bread. Last week I checked on the progress because I wanted to start seeding vivariums but there was very little activity from them. I've noticed my isopods have started to multiply and came across a post on here saying that larger species will eat almost anything and one user commented he housed springtails with that particular species and they kept disappearing. I'm wodering if my isos ate my springtails, anyone have similar experiences??

GemTheBirder

Arachnopeon
I'm far from an expert, but have been keeping a number of isopods for the last year, including Dwarf Whites, all with springtails in their enclosures and have not noticed any loss of springtails. I know Dwarf Whites have a stronger preference for protein than some other isopods, but I'm not sure if a lack of protein would push them to hunt springtails or not.

arachnodad93

Arachnosquire
hm, alright, ig maybe I should incorporate some protein when I feed my hissers and by extension my isopods. That's really the only thing I can think of as to why my springtails seeem to have disappeared without a trace.

The Odd Pet

Arachnoknight