1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dwarf Tarantulas

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by Lamia, Jul 10, 2018 at 3:13 PM.

1. Lamia

Lamia Arachnopeon

USA
    Advertisement
    Looking for more information where I can buy dwarf tarantulas. My daughter really wants a Euathlus sp red or E. parvulus.. ok.. I am having zero luck on them. :(

Is there another dwarf type species that would be good for a beginner?
    We are located in the USA.

Thanks

2. Theneil

Theneil Arachnobaron Active Member

USA
    Does it need to be a dwarf? There are plenty of tarantulas that only grow to about 5 or 6 inches that make great beginners but the few dwarfs i can think of (i am by no means an expert on them) all have a reputation of being VERY fast and prone to bolting out of enclosures.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Lamia

Lamia Arachnopeon

USA
    My daughter is so picky (she gets that from me :shame:). She wants a smaller size. She is not wanting a 6-7 inch tarantula, and really something more than just a 'brown' spider. I am thinking ease of care, humidity requirements, etc in the long run.

I am open to all suggestions!

4. BoyFromLA

BoyFromLA ‎٩(ˊᗜˋ*)و Arachnosupporter

CA
  5. boina

boina Arachnoprince Arachnosupporter

Germany
    Most Euathlus species don't get that big. If you are open for an 4" tarantula there's E. condorito, for example. Then there is Phrixotrichus scrofa, also about 4" and Thrixopelma cyaneolum at that size. Among the Brachypelmas B. verdezi is one of the smallest - and one of the more active ones. All very nice spiders, good for children, too (how old is your daughter?) - and rather difficult to find.

@Theneil is right, most dwarfs are extremely fast and skittish.

They are bright and pretty - but they burrow and you'll never see them. Also fast.

• Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. Theneil

USA